Filter by
Carriageworks

Salote Tawale: I remember you

Where
Carriageworks
Carriageworks
245 Wilson Street, Eveleigh NSW 2042
When

Wednesdays to Sundays, 11am to 6pm Thursday 14 December 2023 to Sunday 28 January Except Sunday 24 December 2023, Wednesday 27 December 2023, Thursday 28 December 2023, Friday 29 December 2023, Saturday 30 December 2023, Sunday 31 December 2023, Wednesday 3 January, Thursday 4 January, Friday 5 January, Saturday 6 January and Sunday 7 January

I remember you is an ambitious presentation of work by Australian–Fijian artist Salote Tawale that considers how identity is formed through memory.

Drawing from the artist’s own recollections, the exhibition is presented across two spaces at Carriageworks. No Location, an almost 14-metre-long bamboo raft, is moored in the Public Space, while in Bay 21, paintings, sculpture and karaoke are bought together in an installation that is conceived as a ‘memory bank’.

Based on the material of life – Tawale’s life – I remember you acknowledges the subjectivity of experience to explore the relationship between the individual and the collective.

Curated by Aarna Fitzgerald Hanley.

Contact event organiser

Carriageworks

Accessibility

Advertisement

Other events at Carriageworks

Counting and Cracking – Belvoir St Theatre

Counting and Cracking – Belvoir St Theatre

One of the most ambitious and exciting theatre experiences ever to hit Sydney.
28 Jun 2024
1 Million Women Festival of Solutions

1 Million Women Festival of Solutions

Celebrating 15 years of 1 Million Women with joy, music & optimism. It's all about the solutions for a thriving earth.
29 Jun 2024
swim by Ellen Van Neerven

swim by Ellen Van Neerven

A poetic new play from a sparkling Murri voice
10 Jul 2024
Erth’s Dinosaur Zoo

Erth’s Dinosaur Zoo

An interactive theatre show for budding paleontologists.
16 Jul 2024
Gilgamesh

Gilgamesh

The world’s oldest poem meets opera’s most cutting-edge artists in this spectacular new work, directed by Kip Williams.
26 Sep 2024