Filter by
Hayes Theatre Co

Merrily We Roll Along

Australian cast of Merrily We Roll Along
Where
Hayes Theatre Co
Hayes Theatre Co
19 Greenknowe Avenue, Potts Point NSW 2011
When

Thursday 24 June from 7:30pm to 10pm Friday 25 June from 7:30pm to 10pm Saturday 26 June from 2pm to 4:30pm Saturday 26 June from 7:30pm to 10pm Monday 28 June from 6:30pm to 9pm Tuesday 29 June from 7:30pm to 10pm Wednesday 30 June from 7:30pm to 10pm Thursday 1 July from 1:30pm to 4pm Thursday 1 July from 7:30pm to 10pm Friday 2 July from 7:30pm to 10pm Saturday 3 July from 2pm to 4:30pm Monday 5 July from 6:30pm to 9pm Tuesday 6 July from 7:30pm to 10pm Wednesday 7 July from 7:30pm to 10pm Thursday 8 July from 1pm to 3:30pm Saturday 10 July from 2pm to 4:30pm Monday 12 July from 6:30pm to 9pm Tuesday 13 July from 7:30pm to 10pm Wednesday 14 July from 7:30pm to 10pm Thursday 15 July from 1pm to 3:30pm Thursday 15 July from 7:30pm to 10pm Friday 16 July from 7:30pm to 10pm Saturday 17 July from 2pm to 4:30pm Saturday 17 July from 7:30pm to 10pm Monday 19 July from 6:30pm to 9pm Tuesday 20 July from 7:30pm to 10pm Wednesday 21 July from 7:30pm to 10pm Thursday 22 July from 1pm to 3:30pm Thursday 22 July from 7:30pm to 10pm Friday 23 July from 7:30pm to 10pm Saturday 24 July from 2pm to 4:30pm Monday 26 July from 6:30pm to 9pm Tuesday 27 July from 7:30pm to 10pm Wednesday 28 July from 7:30pm to 10pm Thursday 29 July from 1pm to 3:30pm Friday 30 July from 7:30pm to 10pm Saturday 31 July from 2pm to 4:30pm Saturday 31 July from 7:30pm to 10pm

Cost

Starting from: $79.00

Merrily We Roll Along is the heartbreaker of Sondheim musicals, looking at how the best of friends lose their way as they fight to win at life.

It follows a trio of friends - composer Franklin Shepard, his writing partner lyricist Charley Kringas and upcoming novelist Mary Flynn.

The 3 are primed to change the world through words and music, however success has a way of opening doors that take them further away from what - and who - they love. Famously told in reverse, Merrily We Roll Along is an emotional detective story that investigates how grown-up sellouts are forged from wide-eyed poets. 

Merrily We Roll Along brilliantly blends the excitement and energy of a backstage musical with a poignant and emotional contemporary story about the importance of staying true to one’s ideals. It’s a show that crackles with the wit, humour and intensity that embody the spirit of New York City. With a brilliant “Broadway-style” score and that deep insight one expects from any Sondheim endeavour, Merrily We Roll Along is a spirited and moving cautionary tale for anyone who has ever pursued a dream.

Returning to Hayes Theatre Co in the role of Mary Flynn is Helpmann Award winner and one of Australia’s finest leading ladies Elise McCann (Matilda, Everybody Loves Lucy). In the role of Charley and also returning to the Hayes for the first time since he played Sonny in Xanadu will be Ainsley Melham, who starred as the title role in Disney’s Aladdin across Australia and on Broadway. Recent WAAPA graduate Andrew Coshan (Jersey Boys, MTC’s A View from the Bridge) will perform the role of Franklin Shepard. Georgina Hopson (Ragtime, West Side Story) will play the role of Gussie while Aaron Tsindos (Muriel’s Wedding, Shakespeare In Love) takes on the role of Joe. Recent graduate from Queensland Conservatorium of Music, Tiarne Sue Yek plays the role of Beth, Evan Lever (Anything Goes, Muriel’s Wedding) takes on Jerome, while Vidya Makan (Six, American Idiot) will perform the roles of KT and Meg.

Covid-safe information

Hayes Theatre is a registered COVID Safe business with a range of health and safety measures guided by the NSW Government to ensure your visit to the theatre will be comfortable and enjoyable. Face masks are strongly recommended, as is use of hand sanitisers placed around the venue. View the full COVID safety plan: https://hayestheatre.com.au/your-safety/

Contact event organiser

Hayes Theatre Co

Advertisement

More events in Theatre, dance & film

STORYBOX Sydney

STORYBOX Sydney

A 3D interactive storytelling cube comes to Sydney
Today 12am to 2am
10th Iranian Film Festival Australia

10th Iranian Film Festival Australia

Join us for a diverse range of the best and most interesting of current Iranian cinema
Tomorrow
A Passage to India

A Passage to India

The Sydney Premiere of this new adaptation by Martin Sherman of E.M. Forsters much loved novel
Tomorrow
Calabuch: Free online Spanish movie stream

Calabuch: Free online Spanish movie stream

Movie in VO with English subtitles as part of the special program in June to celebrate film-maker Luis García Berlanga
Tomorrow
Come from away

Come from away

Based on an incredible true story...
Tomorrow
CREATION dance workshops

CREATION dance workshops

Use movement to help dance a new belief system into existence in these CREATION dance workshops.
Tomorrow
Hamilton

Hamilton

The Tony®, Grammy®, Olivier and Pulitzer Prize winning musical will open at the Sydney Lyric Theatre in March 2021.
Tomorrow