Filter by

What to do in Sydney these school holidays

There's plenty to keep the kids entertained.

Keeping the kids entertained in the school holidays can be tricky business, so we’ve done the hard work for you.

We’ve rounded up everything you need to keep your kids occupied.

School is out for most NSW kids from Saturday 21 December to Monday 27 January 2020.

School of Rock. Photo: Matt Murphy

School of Rock: The Musical

Andrew Lloyd Webber brings this smash hit film to life in a musical that will entertain the whole family!

Capitol Theatre Friday 8 November 2019 to Sunday 26 January 2020

Sharks of the reef. Photo: KV Photography

Sharks of the reef

Have a JAW-some day meeting the sharks and learning all about these amazing creatures.

Sea Life Sydney Aquarium Thursday 5 December 2019 to Friday 31 January 2020

On the Move exhibition

On the Move exhibition

What kinds of crazy vehicles might we drive in 100 years? Which transportation is best for the environment? Discover the answers at this interactive and hands-on exhibition.

Museum of Sydney Saturday 7 December 2019 to Sunday 18 October 2020

The Nutcracker. Photo: Jeff Busby

The Nutcracker

Let your little ones experience the world’s most famous ballet in this production especially created for ages 3 and older.

Sydney Opera House Wednesday 18 December 2019 to Saturday 4 January 2020

Balance bike clinics

Free balance bike clinics

A fun way for young children to develop a love of cycling.

Sydney Park Cycling Centre Saturday 21 December 2019 to Saturday 25 January 2020

Circus and flying trapeze workshops

Circus and flying trapeze workshops

Kids will experience the adventure of their lives with these amazing high-flying trapeze and circus workshops.

Circus Arts at Sydney Olympic Park Monday 23 December 2019 to Monday 27 January 2020

Sydney Dance Company school holidays workshops. Photo: Daniel Boud

Summer of dance workshops

Get the children groovin’ at these dynamic dance classes by Sydney Dance Company. Learn styles like jazz, hip-hop and breakdancing!

Various locations Thursday 2 January to Friday 24 January 2020

Tennis camp

January inclusive tennis camps

An inclusive and friendly tennis camp with fully-qualified coaches for children aged 7 to 12 years. Prince Alfred Park Tuesday 7 January 2020 to Thursday 23 January 2020

Sydney FC holiday camp

Sydney FC holiday camp

Boys and girls can learn to play the Sky Blue way at this 3-day action-packed football camp.

Various locations Wednesday 8 January to Friday 24 January 2020

STEM school holiday workshops

Kids, get your thinking caps on! These workshops encourage children to tackle big issues like climate change with computers.

North Sydney Wednesday 8 January to Friday 10 January 2020

The Listies

The Listies: ROFLSHALBOWCO

Outrageous laugh-out-loud fun for the whole family at this interactive show!

ARA Darling Quarter Theatre Friday 10 January to Saturday 25 January 2020

Music Camp

Music Camp

Your kids can develop their musical abilities and meet new friends at these super fun and educational classes.

Marrickville Monday 13 January to Wednesday 22 January 2020

School holidays at Centennial Parklands

There are heaps of educational and fun activities this summer. Don’t miss the eco art for kids or the water workshops!

Centennial Parklands Various dates

Pine Street Creative Arts Centre

Pine Street school holiday programs

Pottery, jewellery making and wheel throwing – these are just a few of the skills your kids can learn at our wonderful community-focused arts space!

Pine Street Creative Arts Centre Various dates

Ideas Lab

Makerspace workshops

From 3D printed bookmarks to paper-circuit sculptures and cycloid drawing machines, stimulate your children’s creativity this summer at Sydney’s innovation hub.

Darling Square Library Various January dates

Want more?

Check out all school holidays listings.