Filter by
Genesian Theatre

Summer of the Seventeenth Doll

When

Friday 15 July 2022 from 7:30pm to 10pm Saturday 16 July 2022 from 7:30pm to 10pm Sunday 17 July 2022 from 4:30pm to 7pm Friday 22 July 2022 from 7:30pm to 10pm Saturday 23 July 2022 from 7:30pm to 10pm Sunday 24 July 2022 from 4:30pm to 7pm Friday 29 July 2022 from 7:30pm to 10pm Saturday 30 July 2022 from 7:30pm to 10pm Sunday 31 July 2022 from 4:30pm to 7pm Friday 5 August 2022 from 7:30pm to 10pm Saturday 6 August 2022 from 7:30pm to 10pm Sunday 7 August 2022 from 4:30pm to 7pm Friday 12 August 2022 from 7:30pm to 10pm Saturday 13 August 2022 from 7:30pm to 10pm Sunday 14 August 2022 from 4:30pm to 7pm Friday 19 August 2022 from 7:30pm to 10pm Saturday 20 August 2022 from 7:30pm to 10pm

Cost

Adult: $35.00Concession: $30.00Group (10+): $30.00

Summer of the Seventeenth Doll is an Australian play written by Ray Lawler and first performed at the Union Theatre in Melbourne on 28 November 1955. The play is considered to be the most significant in Australian theatre history, and a "turning point", openly and authentically portraying distinctly Australian life and characters. It was one of the first truly naturalistic Australian theatre productions.

This compelling Australian play was a success in London and was hailed by critics in New York for its vigor, integrity, and realistic portrayal of two itinerant cane cutters: Barney, a swaggering little scrapper, and Roo, a big roughneck. They have spent the past sixteen summers off with two ladies in a Southern Australian city. Every year Roo has brought a tinsel doll to Olive, his girl, as a gift to symbolize their relationship, but this seventeenth summer is different somehow. Old patterns must be broken, new ways found, as all four lovers come to face certain unpleasant truths about themselves.

This unusual, compelling love story was made into a film entitled Season of Passion and starred Academy Award-winners Ernest Borgnine, Anne Baxter, John Mills and Angela Lansbury.

By Arrangement with the Licensor, Ray Lawler c/- Fran Moore.

Accessibility

Advertisement

More events in Theatre, dance & film

Westpac OpenAir

Westpac OpenAir

The perfect marriage of art and nature - THE NEW YORK TIMES
Today 6pm to 11pm
Music & movement class with Ian

Music & movement class with Ian

Move the body, still the mind and build strength, flexibility & balance
Today 1pm to 2pm
Blanc de Blanc Encore

Blanc de Blanc Encore

The Grand Electric - exciting new theatre Surry Hills
Today 7pm to 10pm
Comedy class + comedy show deal

Comedy class + comedy show deal

Take a 1-hour improv comedy class and then see how the pros do it at the Improv Comedy Cagefight
Today 6pm to 9.15pm
Dancing in Fetters

Dancing in Fetters

A free exhibition that explores the importance of music and dance in early convict life.
Today 10am to 5pm
Darkness - An original theatrical experience!

Darkness - An original theatrical experience!

Darkness comes alive in a site-responsive experience of mystery and passion.
Today 7.30pm to 9.30pm
Exhibition opening: Sonus Maris

Exhibition opening: Sonus Maris

An exhibition navigating the intersections between land, sea, art, and science
Today 8am to 6pm
Hairspray

Hairspray

Hairspray – the multi award-winning Broadway hit musical opens at Sydney's Lyric Theatre in February.
Today 7.30pm to 9.30pm