This event has now closed.

Winyanboga Yurringa

An outstanding all-female, all-Indigenous cast tells the stories of a new generation of our nation’s first women

Following a spectacular premiere season at CarriageWorks in 2016, Andrea James’ Winyanboga Yurringa makes its mainstage debut. An outstanding all-female, all-Indigenous cast tells the stories of a new generation of our nation’s first women and their unshakable bond with the land.

On the bank of a great river, six very different Indigenous women gather: a community leader, a city girl, a niece with a bucketload of issues, a woman from a mission town, a park ranger, and the curator of a museum’s Indigenous unit. The women are connected by kinship, but their worlds are far apart, separated by space, opportunity, time.

They think they’re together for a camping trip, a bit of fishing, a few yarns. But there’s important stuff amongst the hilarity. What it is to be safe? What it is to belong? Who owns stories? How do you reconnect with community, if you’ve been wrenched away?

Inspired by the 1980s TV series Women of the Sun, James has expertly blended fiction with real life-experiences of Indigenous women to create a funny, provocative and honest depiction of the beautiful complexity of today’s women of the sun.

Advertisement

When

Tuesday 14 May 2019 from 6.30pm to 8.30pm
Wednesday 15 May 2019 from 6.30pm to 8.30pm
Thursday 16 May 2019 from 7.30pm to 9.30pm
Thursday 16 May 2019 from 1pm to 3pm
Friday 17 May 2019 from 7.30pm to 9.30pm
Saturday 18 May 2019 from 2pm to 4pm
Saturday 18 May 2019 from 7.30pm to 9.30pm
Sunday 19 May 2019 from 5pm to 7pm
Tuesday 21 May 2019 from 6.30pm to 8.30pm
Wednesday 22 May 2019 from 6.30pm to 8.30pm
Thursday 23 May 2019 from 7.30pm to 9.30pm
Friday 24 May 2019 from 7.30pm to 9.30pm
Saturday 25 May 2019 from 2pm to 4pm
Saturday 25 May 2019 from 7.30pm to 9.30pm
Sunday 26 May 2019 from 5pm to 7pm

Cost

Full price: $77.00
Seniors: $67.00
Concession: $54.00
30-Down: $47.00
Student Saver: $37.00

Event tags

Advertisement

The latest events direct to you

Error 404

Oops, no events here!

Try searching for an event, or return to the home page.