Filter by
Bridget Kennedy

'Wakey Wakey" by Yvette Nemeth

Where
53 Ridge St
North Sydney NSW 2060
Australia
Bridget Kennedy Project Space
When

Thursday 7 July from 11am to 5pm Friday 8 July from 11am to 5pm Saturday 9 July from 9am to 4pm Wednesday 13 July from 11am to 5pm Thursday 14 July from 11am to 5pm Friday 15 July from 11am to 5pm Saturday 16 July from 9am to 1pm Wednesday 20 July from 11am to 5pm Thursday 21 July from 11am to 5pm Friday 22 July from 11am to 5pm Saturday 23 July from 9am to 1pm Wednesday 27 July from 11am to 5pm Thursday 28 July from 11am to 5pm Friday 29 July from 11am to 5pm Saturday 30 July from 9am to 1pm

Wakey Wakey is an ongoing series of work that aims to critique patriarchal narratives that have villainized women, through the demonization of female sexuality and the perpetuation of rape culture. 

This work uses photography and jewellery making to explore the relationship between the natural and the artifice. By reclaiming these narratives and creating modern adaptions of these mythological figures; the artist empowers narratives that have been used to villainize the female body.

Gallery opening hours: Wednesday to Friday 11am-5pm, Saturday 9am-1pm.

Celebration drinks with the artist will be on Saturday 9 July at 2pm-4pm.

Covid-safe information

There is hand-sanitiser provided throughout the gallery and the jewellery pieces have all been sterilised.

We ask that you please don’t visit the gallery if you feel unwell, have experienced symptoms of Covid-19 including a fever and sore throat in the last 14 days, or have returned from overseas in the last 14 days.

And we ask that you please do not touch the artworks.

Contact event organiser

Bridget Kennedy

Advertisement

More events in Shopping, markets & fairs

All is Life, Mel O'Callaghan

All is Life, Mel O'Callaghan

Mel O’Callaghan’s major new work, All is Life, encompasses sculpture, performance, sound, and film.
Today 10am to 5pm
Electric Keys

Electric Keys

An important private collection of keyboards from the middle of the 20th century, prior to the rise of synthesisers
Today 12am to 5pm
Pacific Views

Pacific Views

Historical photographs are brought to life through contemporary voices, songs and poetry
Today 12pm to 4pm
Walking through a Songline

Walking through a Songline

Follow in the steps of the Seven Sisters and experience the immersive nature of a songline.
Today 10am to 5pm
History Reflected

History Reflected

History Reflected takes visitors on an unexpected journey through moments of change in NSW's history.
Today 10am to 5pm
Light & Darkness

Light & Darkness

Take a visual journey through the big international art movements of the late Modernist era.
Today 12pm to 4pm
4Play with clay
Today 11am to 6pm