This event has now closed.

UTI Kulintjaku Initiative: New Virtual Reality Works

The Big Anxiety Festival

The Uti Kulintjaku [UK] initiative is an innovative, Aboriginal-led mental health literacy project that takes its name from a Pitjantjatjara phrase that means ‘to listen, think and understand clearly’. Formed from the Ngangkari traditional healers and artists of the NPY Women’s Council, the UK initiative addresses community issues of mental health from both Aboriginal and Western perspectives. “What makes (the UK project) especially compelling”, writes Kim Mahood in The Monthly, “is that it provides a framework for a conversation about the underlying psychological forces that drive human behaviour.”

Working with the Big Anxiety and fEEL, the Uti Kulintjaku team have created two new virtual reality works, sharing their healing practices through creative visualisation, including Waumananyi: The Song on the Wind, an Anangu-led response to the experiences of constraint, entrapment, and depression through the traditional story (or ‘tjukurpa’) of ‘The Man in the Log’.

These VR works will be presented at:

  • UNSW Galleries, Paddington see The Empathy Clinic, 27 September – 16 November
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales, see Art After Hours, 16 October
  • The Dax Gallery, Thursday 10 Oct to Friday 8 November. Open 12pm-5pm Wednesday to Friday.

This project is supported by Oranges & Sardines Foundation.

Advertisement

When

Every day, 10am to 5pm

Friday 27 September to Saturday 16 November 2019

Except Sunday 29 September, Monday 30 September, Sunday 6 October, Labour Day, Sunday 13 October, Monday 14 October, Sunday 20 October, Monday 21 October, Sunday 27 October, Monday 28 October, Sunday 3 November, Monday 4 November, Sunday 10 November and Monday 11 November

Cost

Free

More Info

Hashtag: #TheBigAnxiety

Event tags

Advertisement

Like this event? See more:

The latest events direct to you

Error 404

Oops, no events here!

Try searching for an event, or return to the home page.