The Club

All-female version of David Williamson's classic 1977 play

A football club on the brink of great change. The Club is in crisis – the old guard is being put into question and a new path must be paved.

Tradition vies against innovation in a world in which mateship, casual violence, homophobia and racism are not only commonplace but par for the course. The pool table and the whiskey bottle are go-tos for letting off steam and the pressure is on to be the hero, to save the team and the name of the club in the process.

A bold new imagining of David Williamson’s classic 1977 play by all-female theatre company, isthisyours?

Performed by just 3 actors, Williamson’s incisive and hilarious dialogue rings true at a time when women’s roles in the club are no longer confined to being merely spectators or supporters of men, but as true champions of an ever evolving and much loved game.

Image based on original cover design of The Club, first published by Currency Press in 1978.

Advertisement

When

Friday 7 December 2018 from 8.15am to 9.15pm
Tuesday 11 December 2018 from 6.45am to 7.45pm
Wednesday 12 December 2018 from 6.45am to 7.45pm
Thursday 13 December 2018 from 8.15am to 9.15pm
Friday 14 December 2018 from 8.15am to 9.15pm
Saturday 15 December 2018 from 8.15am to 9.15pm
Sunday 16 December 2018 from 5.15am to 6.15pm
Tuesday 18 December 2018 from 6.45am to 7.45pm
Wednesday 19 December 2018 from 6.45am to 7.45pm
Thursday 20 December 2018 from 8.15am to 9.15pm
Friday 21 December 2018 from 8.15am to 9.15pm
Saturday 22 December 2018 from 8.15am to 9.15pm

Cost

General admission: $25.00

More Info

Accessibility services

  • Mobility access

Event tags

Advertisement

Like this event? See more:

The latest events direct to you

Error 404

Oops, no events here!

Try searching for an event, or return to the home page.