This event has now closed.

The City of Forking Paths

Immersive twilight tour of The Rocks

Immerse yourself in the engrossing world of fact and fiction as artists Janet Cardiff and George Bures Miller lead you on a twilight video walk around The Rocks.

Experienced on a mobile device, The City of Forking Paths leads people on a fictional journey through physical surrounds at dusk. Starting at Customs House in Circular Quay, the work weaves a trail through The Rocks.

Against the backdrop of real streets, the artists invent fictional scenarios and incidents for users to discover along the way. Guided by the voice of Janet Cardiff, familiar streets, made mystical at dusk, become the backdrop for an unfolding narrative of memory, displacement and desire.

The City of Forking Paths was commissioned by the 19th Biennale of Sydney: You Imagine What You Desire, curated by Juliana Engberg. The immersive audio-visual art work continues to be experienced as a Biennale of Sydney Legacy artwork in the City of Sydney Art collection.

For more information, frequently asked questions and alternative dates visit the official website.

Advertisement

When

Friday 1 March 2019 from 8pm to 9.30pm
Saturday 2 March 2019 from 8pm to 9.30pm
Thursday 7 March 2019 from 8pm to 9.30pm
Saturday 9 March 2019 from 8pm to 9.30pm
Wednesday 13 March 2019 from 8pm to 9.30pm
Friday 15 March 2019 from 8pm to 9.30pm
Thursday 21 March 2019 from 8pm to 9.30pm
Saturday 23 March 2019 from 8pm to 9.30pm
Wednesday 27 March 2019 from 7pm to 9pm
Friday 29 March 2019 from 6.45pm to 8.45pm
Thursday 4 April 2019 from 6.45pm to 8.45pm
Saturday 6 April 2019 from 6.45pm to 8.45pm
Thursday 11 April 2019 from 5.45pm to 7.45pm
Saturday 13 April 2019 from 5.45pm to 7.45pm
Wednesday 17 April 2019 from 5.45pm to 7.45pm
Friday 26 April 2019 from 5.30pm to 7.30pm
Saturday 27 April 2019 from 5.30pm to 7.30pm

Cost

More Info

Hashtag: #cityofforkingpaths

Accessibility services

  • Closed captions

Event tags

Advertisement

More images from the event

The latest events direct to you

Error 404

Oops, no events here!

Try searching for an event, or return to the home page.