Poetics of the Line

An exhibition surveying a decade of contemporary Australian art concerned with 'the line'.

Poetics of the Line, curated by Tim Marvin, investigates methods of defining ‘the line’ in contemporary artistic practice. The curatorial project will survey a decade of artistic practice that actuate critical and creative configurations of the ‘line’ which derive from a continuity of political, personal and aesthetic motivations. The exhibition will evaluate the prevailing art historical and theoretical legacies that inform these approaches, reflected through the extensive and experimental methods of drawing, stitching, gathering, stapling, browsing, printing, tracing and gestural recording that have been generated upon a variety of mediums. By examining the traditionally linear or overtly formal understanding of this elemental art form, the exhibition will arrange a receptive and continually unfolding exposition of these practices that encourages us to reconsider what a line may reveal about our world.

Featuring Lottie Consalvo, Gaby Dounis, Alex Gawronski, Danny Giles, Robbie Karmel, Amalina Latiff, Daniel McKewen, Nolan Ho Wung Murphy, Conor O’Shea, Kurt Schranzer, Sylvie Veness.

Opening Tuesday 5 November 2019, 5pm to 8pm.

Advertisement

When

Tuesday 5 November 2019 from 5pm to 8pm
Wednesday 6 November 2019 from 11am to 6pm
Thursday 7 November 2019 from 11am to 6pm
Friday 8 November 2019 from 11am to 6pm
Saturday 9 November 2019 from 11am to 4pm
Wednesday 13 November 2019 from 11am to 6pm
Thursday 14 November 2019 from 11am to 6pm
Friday 15 November 2019 from 11am to 6pm
Saturday 16 November 2019 from 11am to 4pm
Wednesday 20 November 2019 from 11am to 6pm
Thursday 21 November 2019 from 11am to 6pm
Friday 22 November 2019 from 11am to 6pm
Saturday 23 November 2019 from 11am to 4pm

Cost

More Info

Hashtag: #art

Accessibility services

  • Mobility access

Event tags

Advertisement

Like this event? See more:

The latest events direct to you

Error 404

Oops, no events here!

Try searching for an event, or return to the home page.