Nick Modrzewski and Nabilah Nordin: Love Cushions

Art exhibition

Dogs were once wolves. Now they are fluffy love-cushions.

We medicate them. We neuter them. We control their bodily functions. They are pampered, trimmed and trained until they are obedient. What are these creatures? What does their existence say about us, their ‘owners’?

Humans have kept pets since ancient times. There were domesticated wildcats in Egypt in 3500 BC. Dogs have long adorned the laps of kings, queens and emperors.

But what does it mean to own a pet today? We live in an age of uncertainty and anxiety. Climate change. Data collection. Surveillance. Identity crises.

Everything is unravelling. So, we return to the domestic space and the animals we put there as a last bastion of comfort and control. It gives us a sense of identity and purpose to own a pet. God is dead, so we become deities within our own homes. On the one hand, we treat our pets like royal decorations. On the other, we control every aspect of their lives. It is this strange love – a mixture of nurturing and dominance – that we are exploring in Love Cushions. We will create a crowd of shambolic sculptures. They will be both “soft” and “hard” – sewn, stuffed, mosaicked and cemented. They will fill Firstdraft’s Gallery 1, climbing the walls and hanging from the ceiling. They will adorn the floor – pedestals and statues depicting triumphant humans celebrating their power over subordinate pets.

Love Cushions is a portrait of contemporary idolatry, questioning an aspect of our lives that we so often take for granted.

Advertisement

When

Wednesday 1 May 2019 from 6pm to 8pm
Thursday 2 May 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Friday 3 May 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Saturday 4 May 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Sunday 5 May 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Wednesday 8 May 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Thursday 9 May 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Friday 10 May 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Saturday 11 May 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Sunday 12 May 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Wednesday 15 May 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Thursday 16 May 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Friday 17 May 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Saturday 18 May 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Sunday 19 May 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Wednesday 22 May 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Thursday 23 May 2019 from 10am to 7pm
Friday 24 May 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm

Cost

Free

More Info

Event tags

Advertisement

Like this event? See more:

The latest events direct to you

Error 404

Oops, no events here!

Try searching for an event, or return to the home page.