Filter by
Roslyn Oxley9 Gallery

Kirtika Kain: 'Stone Idols'

When

Tuesday 2 February from 10am to 6pm Wednesday 3 February from 10am to 6pm Thursday 4 February from 10am to 6pm Friday 5 February from 10am to 6pm Saturday 6 February from 11am to 7pm Tuesday 9 February from 10am to 6pm Wednesday 10 February from 10am to 6pm Thursday 11 February from 10am to 6pm Friday 12 February from 10am to 6pm Saturday 13 February from 11am to 7pm Tuesday 16 February from 10am to 6pm Wednesday 17 February from 10am to 6pm Thursday 18 February from 10am to 6pm Friday 19 February from 10am to 6pm Saturday 20 February from 11am to 7pm Tuesday 23 February from 10am to 6pm Wednesday 24 February from 10am to 6pm Thursday 25 February from 10am to 6pm Friday 26 February from 10am to 6pm Saturday 27 February from 11am to 7pm

Roslyn Oxley9 is delighted to welcome the new year with a highly anticipated exhibition of new works by Kirtika Kain.

I sought to create a work that captured the monumentality of early Dalit literature. I imagined centuries of accrual compressed like geological strata and set about forming this landscape. My materials are my words and they are not dictated, they come from the same embryonic silence from which the art is born. In the cacophony of these heightened times, it is this silence that I return to, that I know to be true.

—Kirtika Kain, 2020

Stone Idols features a large-scale material painting and a series of printed silkscreen works. Created during the lockdown, the exhibition is Kain’s visual response to The Prisons We Broke, one of the first Dalit feminist autobiographies. Using a rich array of religious materials, Kain translates the visceral language and imagines millennia of stigmatisation and suppression faced by India’s lower castes. Her work interrogates the idolisation of deities and beliefs that continue to bind her community to servitude.

This exhibition reflects the artist’s ongoing interest in shedding light to neglected histories, recasting the historical representation of her community and contributing to the dearth of surviving Dalit art and material culture.

Roslyn Oxley9 Gallery is a certified COVID19 Safe Organisation. Visitor numbers are monitored, permitting 37 visitors inside the gallery at any one time. QR codes are to be scanned upon arrival.

Contact event organiser

Roslyn Oxley9 Gallery

Advertisement

More events in Exhibitions

ARTEXPRESS 2021 at the Art Gallery of NSW

ARTEXPRESS 2021 at the Art Gallery of NSW

Outstanding student artworks developed for the 2020 HSC Visual Arts examination
Today 10am to 5pm
Powerhouse Late

Powerhouse Late

Discover the Powerhouse after-hours, open until 9pm Thursday nights in summer 2021
Today 5pm to 9pm
We Are All Astonishingly Wise by Katy B Plummer

We Are All Astonishingly Wise by Katy B Plummer

An interactive fortune-telling video installation on Abercrombie Lane
Today all day
A Mile in My Shoes

A Mile in My Shoes

A shoe shop where you can walk a mile in someone else's shoes - literally
Today 10pm to 4am
Ever Sun by Rochelle Haley

Ever Sun by Rochelle Haley

A suspended installation on Wilmot Street
Today all day