This event has now closed.

Elisabeth Pointon: Moving forward

Art exhibition

Elisabeth Pointon’s practise is informed by her experience in working at a luxury car dealership, interested in the communal isolation of shared spaces. Her larger works often act as a kind of big romantic gesture to the workplace while also interrupting dominant corporate language and the power attributed to it. Pointon’s work offers alternatives to profit-driven cultural environments by activating public spaces and reshaping them into micro-utopic communities. Drawing from her experiences at a luxury car dealership, language, accessibility and representation has been a continued interest in Pointon’s practise. As a Pakeha and Indian artist, her position in a traditionally white and masculine-led environment mirrors the experiences of many minorities in the workplace, which in turn, mirrors the experience of many minorities in the art world.

Biography
Elisabeth Pointon is a Pakeha and Indian, Pōneke-based artist who graduated with an MFA from Massey University (Te Whanganui-a-Tara) in 2017. Recent exhibitions include Better living everyone., Blue Oyster Art Project Space, Ōtepoti, 2019, WOULD YOU LOOK AT THAT., Play_Station, Te Whanganui-a-Tara, 2019, Special offer., Te Tuhi, Tāmaki Makaurau, 2018, A guide to effective implementation of self-service., curated by Laura Duffy, Masons Screen, Te Whanganui-a-Tara, 2018, Don’t miss out., The Dowse Arts Museum, Awakairangi, 2018.

Opening 5 June, 6pm to 8pm
Artist talk 27 June, 6pm to 7pm

Advertisement

When

Wednesday 5 June 2019 from 6pm to 8pm
Thursday 6 June 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Friday 7 June 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Saturday 8 June 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Sunday 9 June 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Wednesday 12 June 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Thursday 13 June 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Friday 14 June 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Saturday 15 June 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Sunday 16 June 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Wednesday 19 June 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Thursday 20 June 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Friday 21 June 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Saturday 22 June 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Sunday 23 June 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Wednesday 26 June 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Thursday 27 June 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm
Friday 28 June 2019 from 10am to 5.30pm

Cost

Free

More Info

Event tags

Advertisement

Like this event? See more:

The latest events direct to you

Error 404

Oops, no events here!

Try searching for an event, or return to the home page.