This event has now closed.

Artefacts: Unburied treasure

Solo exhibition of painted fragments and wood engravings

In this exhibition Kingsford-Smith has referenced practices within ancient Egyptian and Roman culture that were used to combat feeling of existential anguish and doubt. The texts inscribed on the wood blocks reference ancient Egyptian letters to the dead, while the coloured imagery on their verso drew inspiration from ancient Roman frescos that depicted mythical scenes. In keeping with his larger body of work, Kingsford-Smith looks for connections between the psychological impulses underpinning ancient practices and our own within the contemporary world.

A series of 13 wood engravings is also included in this exhibition. The imagery within them extends the themes present within the painted blocks. The relationship between the living and the dead and the diverse dimensions of human experience are depicted.

Advertisement

Where

51 William St, Darlinghurst NSW 2010, Australia

When

Tuesday 15 October 2019 from 12pm to 6.30pm
Wednesday 16 October 2019 from 12pm to 6.30pm
Thursday 17 October 2019 from 12pm to 6.30pm
Friday 18 October 2019 from 12pm to 6.30pm
Saturday 19 October 2019 from 12pm to 5pm
Sunday 20 October 2019 from 12pm to 5pm
Tuesday 22 October 2019 from 12pm to 6.30pm
Wednesday 23 October 2019 from 12pm to 6.30pm
Thursday 24 October 2019 from 12pm to 6.30pm
Friday 25 October 2019 from 12pm to 6.30pm
Saturday 26 October 2019 from 12pm to 5pm
Sunday 27 October 2019 from 12pm to 5pm

Cost

Free

Event tags

Advertisement

More images from the event

The latest events direct to you

Error 404

Oops, no events here!

Try searching for an event, or return to the home page.